Describe the WCF architecture

  • Sharad Jaiswal
  • 22nd Feb, 2018

1 answer(s) :

  •   Reply


    25th May, 2019

    WCF is built on top of .NET 2.0 Framework. You can see WCF as a set of classes that allows developers to build service-oriented applications. The architecture of WCF is layered.

    It mainly consist of 4 Layers i.e contracts, Service runtime, Messaging, and Activation and hosting.

    1. Contract Layer: There are 4 types of contracts available in WCF.

    • Service Contract
    • Data Contract
    • Message Contract
    • Policies and Bindings

    2. Service runtime: There are 5 different types of service runtime behaviors available in WCF, They are

    • Throttling Behavior
    • Error Behavior
    • Metadata Behavior
    • Instance Behavior
    • Transaction Behavior
    • Dispatch Behavior

    3. Messaging: This layer defines the formats and data exchange during service communication. There are 2 types of messaging channels are available:

    • Transport Channels
    • Protocol Channels

    4. Activation and hosting: You can host WCF applications in multiples ways some of them are

    • Self-hosting
    • IIS hosting
    • WAS hosting
    • Windows service hosting

Post your Answer :

Valid name is required.

Valid name is required.

Valid email id is required.